Packing up

Well, this is it.  My last day as an Erasmus student in Bordeaux.  I’ve bought my flight home for this evening, packed my bag and cleared out my room.  Today is one of those few rainy days here, which suits my mood perfectly.  In packing up, I’ve realised one thing: I don’t want to leave.  As my friends back home remind me, returning to the UK means I will see my friends and family that I haven’t seen for 6 months.  Yet leaving here means that I may never see some of my friends here again.  Beyond that, I like this city.  I like the culture here, the weather, its proximity to the beach and to good wine.  I like being an international student, where being different is the norm.  This year has been truly amazing, so I do not want it to end.

I have achieved much this year.  I am now fluent in French, and can understand legal documents.  I can study Mathematics in French, to a similar standard of native speakers.  I know now that I can live abroad, away from friends or family, and start fresh in a new city, a new country, and flourish.  I have learnt more about the culture, and recognise that living somewhere lends more insights than simply visiting.  I am more confident in my abilities, and feel more a European citizen than ever before, and more positive towards the EU.  Given all that, I can certainly say that I am a successful Erasmus student!

 

Signing off,

Erasmus Who?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment