Advantages of Erasmus

A recent conversation with my flat-mate made me consider the advantages of the Erasmus scheme.  We discussed the variations between healthcare in our respective home countries and here in France.  The consensus we reached was that it was far easier at home, where we understand the system.  Then, Münster Girl stated that she is unlikely to settle abroad, that she would now prefer to stay in Germany.  On the other hand, I have whetted my appetite for living in a foreign country.  Not simply visiting for a few short days as a tourist, but fully living, working and studying in another country.  With the time span allowed as an Erasmus student, I have had the freedom to understand the culture far more.  I visited France several times before this year, yet I can honestly say that this year, I learnt more than in the 10 years previously spent studying French.

Now, I look to the future.  I have one more year left of my undergraduate degree in my home university to complete, so I have been considering my options.  I would love to learn more about languages and culture, more formally than the observations I have made this year.  So I consider some Masters degrees, whilst looking for jobs that interest me.  Ideally, such a job would make use of my high level Mathematics skills, with the opportunity to work abroad long-term.  However, the combination of both Mathematics and language skills, whilst both are individually sought after, seems rather uncommon.  A pity, as the two areas are similar in many ways.  Hopefully, something interesting will turn up in time.

Signing off,

Erasmus Who?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Advantages of Erasmus

  1. Fran says:

    How about learning Chinese next? Fran x

Leave a comment