New Horizons

Erasmus Who travels again!  This time, not as an Erasmus student – just a lowly international postgraduate who has learnt from previous experience.  I arrived in Dublin just over two weeks ago in order to find accommodation.  Last weekend, I was successful in that hunt, and now I seek a flatmate instead.  I’ve successfully registered as a student, and obtained a shiny student card.  I do like the certainty that that entails – I’m no longer in limbo between courses.  Today, I also managed to connect to the university wifi network, which will save me some considerable money at cyber cafes as I have yet to set up the internet at my flat.  Sadly, it may be some time before that delightful student card will open the door to the 1937 reading room, dedicated 24/7 to postgraduate studies.

I’m looking forward to meeting others on my course, and a little nervous.  Thus far, I have thought of myself as a mathematician and a scientist.  Now, I must change that self-perception.  My new base is firmly in the Arts building, together with other Social Sciences, at the other end of campus from the Science and Engineers of my comfort zone.  Still, it will be an adventure of another kind.  This year, the culture differences will be far more subtle.

Signing off,

Erasmus Who?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment