Conservative viewpoints

This scares me. Regardless of my own views on abortion, the knowledge that a woman died because of religious views of a state is frightening.  I find that I am grateful for having been brought up in a relatively secular society, with a separation between the Church and the State.  As much as 90% of the schools here are run by the Catholic Church.  A further 5% by the Church of Ireland.  What this continued religious separation will do for the country, I dare not comment.  Whilst I went to a denomination school myself, it was certainly open to students of all religious backgrounds.  Does that suggest that “secularism” allows for more freedom, more openness and tolerance?

It may not always be possible to do the right thing, but at the very least we can decide to do no evil.  I don’t think I want to live somewhere so prescriptive.

Signing off,

Erasmus Who?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment